Listen to THIS: Christmas

He's watching you...

He’s watching you…

Okay, I love Christmas as much as the next guy, but I think that I may be 1 of 1 people who really doesn’t like most Christmas music. Almost all of the “classics” are just jazz tunes in AABA form with traditional changes, and instead of having the lyrics being about just making love, it is now about making love on the day of the birth of the Christ-child (something seems wrong about that…) I got to do a five Christmas gigs on one day (we played/sang at a bunch of Elementary Schools) and at every gig we sang “12 days of Christmas.” Now it’s an annoying song just one time, but five times? Oh god, it was brutal. I also have a personal problem with “Rudolph.” We do not know Dasher, Dancer, Prancer and crew. We only know about Rudolph, and his damn shining nose. But there is some stuff that I don’t hate, and I’m not just saying that to not be a humbug.

Carol of the Bells

This is one of the very few Christmas carols that is in the minor. This version also has a lot of bells for extra points.

Sleigh Ride

Leroy Anderson. Need I say more? Yes. You can’t do better than the Boston Pops playing Anderson.

Anything from “Charlie Brown Christmas”

I mean anything. It’s technically secular, but at my home at least, it’s played with such a frequency at this time of year, it might as well be sacred. Also the whole album is amazing, but “O Tannenbaum” is my personal favorite due to its sheer jazziness.

Lo, How a Rose E’re Blooming

This is my absolute favorite Christmas song ever, and probably my favorite hymn. This was the version I first heard of the tune, so that’s why it’s here. If you don’t like it, there’s plenty of other versions on youtube, but this big band arrangement is beautiful. I cry when I play it: that’s how awesome it is.

The moral of the story: Merry Christmas everyone!!

About Why must you use all the notes

So much to do, so little reason to do so much of it...
This entry was posted in Listen to THIS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

