Beethoven 6

Today, for no good reason, I decided to listen to the Beethoven 6th symphony. My knowledge of Beethoven is sadly rather limited. This is pretty bad because Beethoven is like, the most important/one of the greatest composers ever, and I try to masquerade as someone who knows his shit about Western Art Music, and also I’m a composer. But I am young and motivated and in college, and college is all about discovery! So today was Beethoven 6 day. In listening, I was constantly reminded of Erik Klackner’s struggle with the same piece. However, I didn’t have as much a problem with it! Aside from the second movement, which was just way too long, I found the work to be engaging and interesting. The second movement did have one redeeming; there was a melody that was scored for two solo cellos, solo bassoon, and violas. This was perhaps the first really unique tone color used in orchestral music. That might be a helplessly ignorant statement, but hey, it sounds good to me!

I will try to keep remedying my Beethoven deficiency, and since soon I’ll have a lot more extra time on my hands, I can get heavy doses.

About Why must you use all the notes

So much to do, so little reason to do so much of it...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beethoven 6

  1. crackladen says:

    Glad you didn’t have to struggle as much as I did. Make sure you check out Vanska’s cycle if you’re diving into the symphonies…it’s legit!

Leave a Reply

